Brief History of Caraga and some facts

Caraga Adminstrative Region XIII was created in pursuance of Republic Act No.7901 on February 23, 1995 by President by President Fidel V. Ramos. This new born region we now call Caraga was named after the historic Caraga: an extensive land mass covering some provinces in the Northeastern seaboard of island of Mindanao , Philippines . It was an existing Lumad territory even before the arrival of the Spaniards in the country as chronicled by Antonio Pigafetta, this was located in the Pacific Coast between Butuan or Benaiam in the Southeast somewhere in the vicinity of the province of Davao Oriental.

In 1538 the Eastern cost of Mindanao which include the present province of Surigao was visited by a Portuguese explorer Francisco de Castro, who found the place inhabited by the Caraga tribe who were believed to be of Visayan origin.

Five years later, a Spaniard Ruy Lopez de Villalobos landed in the same region. His navigator, Bernardo de la Torre, named it "Cesaria caroli" in honor of the reigning Spanish Monarch, Carlos V. The name however never persisted since the Spaniards preferred to name the area "Caraga" after its inhabitants.

The Jesuits Missionaries in 1597 tried to evangelize the people of Butuan (Agusan) and Caraga (Surigao ), with much difficulty and intermittent success, there followed in 1622 by the Augustinians Recollects ,who establishes parishes in Tandag and Bislig in 1642. The Recollects stayed until 1875 , then secular priests took over, followed by the Benedictine Monks from 1893 to 1908.

The ancient District of Caraga, which was established in 1609 comprised all of Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, the Northern part of Davao Oriental and Eastern Misamis Oriental.

Caraga Admistrative Region 13 is located in the eastern part of Mindanao Island, Philippines. It is bounded on the north by the Pacific Ocean, on the South by the province of Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental, on the East by the province of Davao del Norte and on the West by the Mindanao Sea.

The Region covers four provinces and two cities. These include the Cities of Butuan (as the Regional Center) and Surigao, and the provinces of Agusan del Norte , Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, and Surigao del Sur.

The four provinces of Caraga are composed of 73 municipalities with a total of 1,309 barangays.

Caraga's Economy: The region has strong wood-, mineral-, and fishery-based industries. Rice, corn, palm oil, banana, coconut, abaca, rubber, fruits, and root crops are its major agricultural products.


Home Page About Caraga Region, Philippines and other Fun Stuff
By Henry Cabataņa (